2013 National Māori Sports Awards results

By Tamati Tiananga

Lisa Carrington received top honours at last night's 23rd awards ceremony.

Carrington took out the Senior Māori Sportswoman and Māori Sports Person of the Year, and was also honoured with a Māori World Champion Award.

Veteran wood-chopper Jason Wynyard (Ngāti Maniapoto, Ngāpuhi and Tainui) took out the Senior Māori Sportsman Award and also received a Māori World Champion Award.

The Junior Māori Sportswoman of the Year went to Tyla Nathan-Wong of Ngāpuhi for her achievements in Rugby Sevens and Touch.

Blues player Joe Edwards of Te Whakatōhea and Ngāti Tūwharetoa won Junior Māori Sportsman of the Year.

The head of NRL club the Bulldogs, Raelene Castle of Ngāpuhi, won the Sports Administrator Award, while NZ Rugby Union Referee of the Year Glen Jackson trumped the Māori Sports Umpire/Referee category.

The Māori Sports Coach of the Year went to Ngāi Tahu's Sean Horan for Women's Sevens.

A total of seven athletes received awards for Individual Māori World Champions, one of them being Teneka Hyndman of Ngāti Tūwharetoa for Pro Figure Body Building.

Paralympic Cameron Leslie (Ngāpuhi) won the Disabled Māori Sports Person for the second year running, while the Māori All Blacks scooped the award for best Māori Sports Team.

Finally, Teōne Wiwi 'Jack' Taiaroa of Ngāi Tahu was inducted into the Māori Sports Hall of Fame for Rugby, Cricket and Athletics.