2016 Māori Book Awards finalists announced

A wide range of books have been named as finalists in Massey University's Ngā Kupu Ora Awards: Celebrating Māori Books and Journalism.

Internationally-acclaimed Māori writer, Patricia Grace has written her first book in ten years titled Chappy . The book, a finalist in the Creative Writing section, is a love story between a young man's Māori grandmother and Japanese grandfather. 

Finalists for the Te Reo Māori section include broadcaster Scotty Morrison's latest book Māori Made Easy,  He Iti Kahurangi by Hēni Jacob and Toitū Te Whare, an edited collection of articles from 10 reo academics at Te Whare Wananga o Awanuiārangi.

Massey University Māori language lecturer and judge Darren Joseph says it's exciting to see Māori language books for every level of fluency.

"All three finalists in Te Reo Māori were topical for different reasons: increasing Māori language speakers; improving Māori language speech and recording Māori language and cultural activities."

In all, there are 13 finalists spread over five categories, which include Te Kōrero o Mua/Te Haurongo- History/Biography and Te Mahi Toi- Arts. 

University Assistant Vice Chancellor Māori and Pasifika Dr Selwyn Katene says 2016 marks a milestone for the awards, which are now in their eighth year. “The expansion of the awards to include journalism means we can truly celebrate Māori storytelling in its many forms and further promote Ngā Kupu Ora’s original kaupapa of recognising excellence in Māori books and now journalism.” Dr Katene says.

Finalists for the 2016 Māori Book Awards are;

Te Mahi Toi - Arts

Title:               Māori Art:  History, Architecture, Landscape and Theory    

Author:          Rangihiroa Panoho.

Publisher:       Bateman Publishing

Title:               In Pursuit of Venus

Author:           Lisa Reihana

Publisher:       Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Title:               Toi Awe, Toi Iro, Toi Hanga, Toi Hua

Editor:            Kereti G. Rautangata

Publisher        Te Whare Wānanga o Aotearoa

Te Kōrero o Mua/Te Haurongo – History/Biography

Title:               Maiea Te Tupua                

Author:           Tom Roa, Maehe Paki

Publisher:       Pirongia: Pūrekireki Marae

Title:               Te Whiti o Rongomai and the Resistance of Parihaka

Author:           Danny Keenan

Publisher:       Huia Publishers

Te Tuhinga Auaha - Creative Writing

Title:               Chappy                                    

Author:           Patricia Grace

Publisher:       Penguin Books NZ

Title:               Waitapu

Author:           Helen Margaret Waaka

Publisher:       Escalator Press

Te Kōrero Pono - Non-Fiction           

Title:               Te Mahi Māra Hua Parakore: A Māori Sovereignty Food Handbook

Author:           Jessica Hutchings

Publisher:       Te Tākupu Publications

Title:              Wayfinding Leadership: Ground-breaking Wisdom for Developing Leaders

Author:           Dr Chellie Spiller, Hoturoa Barclay-Kerr and John Panoho

Publisher:       Huia Publishers

Title:               Working with Māori children with special education


Author:          Jill Bevan-Brown, Mere Berryman, Huhana Hickey,

                     Sonja Macfarlane, Kirsten Smiler and Tai Walker

Publisher:       NZCER Press

Te Reo Māori – Māori Language

Title:               Māori Made Easy: For Everyday Learners of the Māori   


Author:           Scotty Morrison

Publisher:       Penguin Books NZ

Title:               He Iti Kahurangi

Author:           Hēni Jacob

Publisher:       Te Tākupu Publications

Title:               Toitū Te Whare

Author:           Agnes McFarland, Taiarahia Black

Publisher:       NZCER Press

The winners of the book and journalism categories will be announced at the awards dinner at the Auckland Museum Event Centre on October 3.