Cliff Curtis named Te Tohu Tiketike o Matariki

Cliff Curtis has taken out the top honour at the 2016 Matatriki Awards tonight after receiving the Te Tohu Tiketike o Matariki Supreme Award.

Earlier in the evening he also won the Te Waipuna-a-Rangi award for Arts and Entertainment.

Hundreds gathered at the event tonight to pay homage to those who have excelled in their fields making major contributions to Māori across a broad range of fields.

Tonight’s winners were;

Ezekiel Raui of Te Rarawa who was named the Matariki Young Achiever of the year.

Linda Tuhiwai Smith of Ngāti Awa and Ngāti Porou was acknowledged for her major contribution to education with the Te Ururangi Award.

IronMāori and its immense contribution to improving the health of Māori was awarded the Te Tupu-a-Rangi Award for Health & Science.

Nehe Rihara Milner-Skudder of Ngāti Porou, Tapuika and his rise to All Blacks fame was recognised with the Te Waitā Award for Sport.

Māori-owned Miraka Limited was awarded the Te Tupu-a-Nuku Award for Business & Innovation

Scotty Morrison who was recognised for his contribution to te reo Māori me ōna tikanga with the Te Waitī Award for Te Reo & Tikanga tonight.