Defending champs head into Te Matatini 2015 as five-time national winners

updated By Heeni Brown
Te Waka Huia

Defending champions Te Waka Huia return to the national Te Matatini stage next year with five titles to their name.

They are the only team to ever win the national competition on their first attempt.

That was back in 1986, the last time the competition was hosted in Christchurch.  They’ll be hoping the Christchurch venue delivers them similar results come March 2015.