Whakatau Elections 2020

Interactive map

Select a Māori electorate on the map to view detailed information.
Problems finding your electorate? Visit elections.org.nz

Live results map

Live election voting results: Select a Māori electorate on the map to view detailed information on the status of candidate and party votes.


From Papakura to Te Awamutu. From Kawhia in the west, to the Coromandel in the East, that’s the territory of the Hauraki-Waikato region. Hamilton city is also a part of this electorate, as well as the heart of the Māori King movement. 

Labour Party's Nanaia Mahuta is the incumbent MP for Hauraki-Waikato.



100% of booths reporting as at 11:33pm

Live candidate results for Hauraki-Waikato

Nanaia Mahuta

11763 votes 70%

Donna Pokere-Phillips

4228 votes 25%

Phillip Stephen Lambert

592 votes 4%

Richard Hill

324 votes 2%


From Wellington in the south, to Potaka, and inland to the Tarawera township, the Ikaroa-Rāwhiti region is a long and vast electorate. It includes towns like Gisborne, Wairoa, Napier, Hastings, Masterton and the Hutt. 

Labour Party's Meka Whaitiri is the incumbent MP for Ikaroa-Rāwhiti.



100% of booths reporting as at 1:33am

Live candidate results for Ikaroa-Rāwhiti

Meka Whaitiri

10833 votes 57%

Heather Te Au-Skipworth

5781 votes 30%

Elizabeth Kerekere

1535 votes 8%

Waitangi Kupenga

579 votes 3%

Melissa Hill

199 votes 1%

Kelly Thurston

150 votes 1%

Tāmaki Makaurau

From Pīhā in the west, to Cockle’s Bay in the East and from the southern side of the Auckland Harbour Bridge to Manurewa in the south, that’s the region of Tāmaki Makaurau.  It includes Auckland city and Manukau, but does not include Papakura. 

Labour Party's Peeni Henare is the incumbent MP for Tāmaki Makaurau.


Tāmaki Makaurau

100% of booths reporting as at 2:12am

Live candidate results for Tāmaki Makaurau

Peeni Henare

7698 votes 42%

John Tamihere

6796 votes 37%

Marama Davidson

3630 votes 20%

Erina Anderson

308 votes 2%

Te Tai Hauāuru

From Maungatautari in the north, to Grenada North, Tawa, in the Wellington region. From Atiamuri, to the most Western tip of the North Island, this is the electorate of Te Taihauāuru. It includes the Taranaki, Whanganui and Manawatū regions. 

Labour Party's Adrian Rurawhe is the incumbent MP for Te Tai Hauāuru.


Te Tai Hauāuru

100% of booths reporting as at 1:33am

Live candidate results for Te Tai Hauāuru

Adrian Rurawhe

9431 votes 50%

Debbie Ngarewa-Packer

8310 votes 44%

Noeline Apiata

531 votes 3%

Korrallie Bailey-Taurua

247 votes 1%

Kiri McKee

224 votes 1%

Joshua Morgan

190 votes 1%

Te Tai Tokerau

From Te Rerenga Wairua in the North to Sunnyvale and stopping at the Auckland Harbour Bridge at its southern most point. From Bethells Beach in the west to Devonport and reaching to Rangitoto and Motutapu Islands in the East, this is Te Tai Tokerau electorate.  It includes Kaitaia, Whangārei and parts of West Auckland. 

Labour Party's Kelvin Davis is the incumbent MP for Te Tai Tokerau, and is currently sitting at No.2 on his Party List as Deputy Leader.


Te Tai Tokerau

100% of booths reporting as at 1:10am

Live candidate results for Te Tai Tokerau

Kelvin Davis

11594 votes 59%

Mariameno Kapa-Kingi

4993 votes 25%

Maki Herbert

1388 votes 7%

Billy Te Kahika

976 votes 5%

Janice Arahanga-Epiha

321 votes 2%

Daniel Shortland

217 votes 1%

Clinton Dearlove

216 votes 1%

Moemoea Mohoawhenua

81 votes 0%

Te Tai Tonga

From Lower Hutt, across to Makara in the North Island, and then down to include the capital city and all of the South Island, including Stewart Island and the Chatham Islands, that’s the Te Tai Tonga region. The big cities of Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin are a part of this electorate. 

Labour Party's Rino Tirikatene is the incumbent MP for Te Tai Tonga.


Te Tai Tonga

100% of booths reporting as at 1:42am

Live candidate results for Te Tai Tonga

Rino Tirikatene

11128 votes 52%

Tākuta Ferris

5485 votes 26%

Ariana Paretutanganui-Tamati

2466 votes 12%

Anituhia Rebel McDonald

1129 votes 5%

Matiu Thoms

652 votes 3%

Raymond Tuhaka

467 votes 2%


From Waihi beach, to Whangaparaoa in the East Coast, then all the way to Mt. Tongariro in the southern part of the region, that marks the territory of the Waiariki Māori electorate.  It includes Tauranga, Rotorua, Taupō and Whakatāne. 

Labour Party's Tamati Coffey is the incumbent MP for Waiariki.



100% of booths reporting as at 1:48am

Live candidate results for Waiariki

Rawiri Waititi

9473 votes 47%

Tamati Gerald Coffey

9058 votes 44%

Hannah Tamaki

838 votes 4%

Ema Williams

528 votes 3%

Rawiri Tekowhai

312 votes 2%

Riki Wayne Broughton

153 votes 1%

After law change, 10,000 swap rolls

More than 10,000 people have made the switch between the general roll and the Māori roll in the wake of a law change passed by the Labour government and National in November last year.

View all Election news

Seats in Parliament

  • National Party 56
  • Labour Party 46
  • New Zealand First Party 9
  • Green Party 8
  • ACT New Zealand 1
  • Total 120

Seats in Parliament

Based on current voting
  • Labour Party 64
  • National Party 35
  • Green Party 10
  • ACT New Zealand 10
  • Māori Party 1
  • Advance NZ 0
  • New Zealand First Party 0
  • MANA 0
  • Vision New Zealand 0
  • The Opportunities Party (TOP) 0
  • ONE Party 0
  • NZ Outdoors Party 0
  • New Conservative 0
  • Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party 0
  • HeartlandNZ 0
  • Social Credit 0
  • Sustainable New Zealand Party 0
  • TEA Party 0
  • Advance NZ 0
  • Total 120