Seats in Parliament

  • National Party 56
  • Labour Party 46
  • New Zealand First Party 9
  • Green Party 8
  • ACT New Zealand 1
  • Total 120

Rino Tirikatene

Labour Party

Other candidates in: Te Tai Tonga

More: Rino Tirikatene

Concerns mount over lack of candidates in Māori wards

Māori ward advocates are deeply concerned at the lack of nominations for the new seats at this year's local bodies election.

This year 35 councils across Aotearoa will introduce Māori wards but, with tomorrow the cutoff date for nominations, advocates say the biggest opportunity ever for Māori to have a voice at council could be lost.

Jill Day led the charge for Wellington City Council to implement Māori wards. As of today, there is only one candidate to contest the one vacancy on the Wellington council.

New Speaker of the House caught in electorate dilemma

Te Tai Hauāuru MP Adrian Rūrawhe is preparing to become the Speaker of the House in August when Trevor Mallard steps down.

But the MP admits he faces a problem only one of his predecessors has had before.

That was Sir Lockwood Smith who was an electorate MP when he was made Speaker. He continued to work at both his electorate and Speaker duties until the end of that parliamentary term before switching to his party's list in the following terms.


Māori must work together to achieve local board parity in Auckland

With just over five months until local board elections, a call has been made for Māori candidates in Auckland to work together.

Former Auckland mayoral candidate John Tamihere says it's time all Māori candidates ran on a platform that better promoted Māori ideals across the city, "lifting out people's view of our right to participate as a brown voting bloc in local body elections, as well as national body elections."


Te Kōhanga Reo announces new board members

Te Kōhanga Reo National Trust has six new or returning trustees following its recent board elections.

They are Andrew (Anaru) Rieper (Te Taitokerau), Hurimoana Dennis (Tāmaki Makaurau), Eugene Cassidy (Aotea), Te Wheoro Rangikotua (Mātaatua/ Tauranga Moana), Matua Hook (Kahungunu) and Tom Alesana (Te Waipounamu/ Wharekauri). 

New nominations are to be called for in Tainui after the successful candidate withdrew "due to extraneous circumstances".

Show more results