Four honoured for special contributions to Māori music

By Te Ao - Māori News

The Waiata Māori Music Awards to be presented in September will include four special awards acknowledging the contributions of respected musicians from Māoridom.

Trevor Maxwell is set to be awarded the Keeper of Tradition, Abe Phillips and Pixie Williams will receive the Lifetime Contribution to Māori Music and Jarrod Huirama to be given the Music Industry Award.

Awards executive director Ellison Huata says, “The Waiata Māori Music Awards celebrate excellence in Māori music and acknowledge and honour the keepers, teachers, promoters, creators and performers of Māori music.

“These four recipients represent the highest achievement in their fields from composition to performance and production.”

The awards night is on Friday 13 September 2019 to be held at Club Hastings.

Waiata Māori Music Awards FINALISTS 2019
Best Māori Female Solo Artist
1. Amba Holly
2. Theia
3. La Coco
4. JaLeace

Best Māori Male Solo Artist
1. Tipene
2. Israel Starr
3. PERE 

Best Traditional Album Te Reo Māori
1. Te Kākano – Te Kākano
2. Grove Roots – Waka
3. Maaka Fiso – Ngaro
Best Māori Pop Album
1. L.A.B. – L.A.B. II
2. Te Kākano – Te Kākano
3. Tipene – Tautoko
Best Māori Urban Rap/Hiphop/RnB Album
1. Tipene – Tautoko
2. Grove Roots – Waka
3. Rugged and Wylde – The King and the Chief
Best Māori Urban Roots Album
1. Grove Roots – Waka
2. NLC – Know Your Roots

Best Song by a Māori Artist
1. Katchafire – Fyah In The Trenches
2. Te Kākano – Tōrea
3. L.A.B. – L.A.B. II
4. RunTingz Family – Runtingz Anthem
Best Māori songwriter
1. Katchafire
2. L.A.B.
3. Te Kākano
4. Amba Holly
Best Music Video by a Māori Artist
1. Grove Roots – Aotearoa
2. L.A.B. – Baby Will You Let Me
3. Tipene – Nanny's House
4. La Coco – Back When
5. Theia – Candy