Govt announces expansion of Māori and Pasifika Trades Training

Today the Government announced the expansion of the Māori and Pasifika Trades Training initiative.  Three new consortia have joined the 12 providers who are already with the programme.

Last year, 12 groups were chosen to provide training in the Hawke's Bay, East Coast, Auckland, Northland, Canterbury, Rotorua, Waikato and Wellington.

Now, three more groups have been added to give trades training to Taranaki and the Bay of Plenty.

Ultimately, the initiative aims to support young Māori and Pasifika people and assist them in gaining qualifications, apprenticeships and employment in trades.

Māori Development Minister Te Ururoa Flavell says, “The expansion of Māori and Pasifika Trades Training into new regions is a welcome development and will help create sustainable opportunities for individual and their communities.

Local Māori and Pasifika people can take up the opportunity to pursue apprenticeships and work towards trades careers.”