Iwi Radio stations prepare for bi-annual awards night

By Wepiha Te Kanawa

Iwi Radio are gearing up for their big awards night in Rotorua next week. 21 iwi stations across the country will celebrate their efforts with the release of the finalists. 

He's one of the familiar voices on our national airwaves. Dave Kaire has been working for Radio Waatea for 8 years. They're Auckland’s only Māori radio station that provides an extensive bi-lingual broadcast to its listeners.

Next weekend he and his wider team will be acknowledged for their efforts after being announced as one of the finalist as Iwi Station of the year.

The other 5 finalists for the Iwi Station of the Year Award include Maniapoto FM in Te Kuiti, Moana Radio in Tauranga, Radio Ngāti Porou in Ruatoria, Te Korimako in New Plymouth and Te Hiku o te Ika in Kaitaia.

Iwi radio have played a huge contribution to the revitalisation of the Māori language since its first broadcast by Te Upoko o te Ika 27 years ago. Today their efforts continue.

Each station currently run on a budget up to $350,000 annually. Next weekend at the event, Minister of Maori Affairs Pita Sharples is expected to make a special announcement.