Labour Māori candidates set eyes on seats

By Harata Brown

The Labour Māori candidates are on the hunt to survive, Kelvin Davis is doing just that after he lost out to the MP for Te Tai Tokerau, Hone Harawira in all three elections since 2008.

According to Kelvin Davis, “Looking forward to winning the seat of Te Tai Tokerau, and bringing it back to Labour.”

However, the Māori electorates, Hauraki-Waikato, Te Ikaroa-Rāwhiti and Te Tai Tonga are currently held by Māori Labour MPs and with Tariana Turia and Pita Sharples of the Māori Party retiring, Tāmaki Makaurau and Te Tai Hauāuru electorates are now up for grabs.

Peeni Henare says, “I want to acknowledge all of my ancestry because they are the reason why I have entered into this domain.”

It may prove a tough challenge for incoming contester, Rawiri Waititi, who hopes to take Waiariki from current sitting MP Te Ururoa Flavell, who has retained that seat since 2005.  Also Mana deputy-leader, Annette Sykes looks to contest the Waiariki seat too.

Campaign themes for the Māori Labour Party candidates in this year's General Election are to uplift family circumstances, better training incentives and employment opportunities for youth as well as providing better home ownership packages under the Kiwi Build policy.