Māori Electorate Labour MPs prepared for hard work

By Te Ao Māori News
Labour Māori MPs - Peeni Henare, Meka Whaitiri, Adrian Rurawhe, Rino Tirikatene

Four of the Labour MPs who came out on top in the Māori seats in this year’s election joined Mihingarangi Forbes in studio to look back at the results for the Kōwhiri 14 Te Whakatau special.

Meka Whaitiri of the Labour Party retained Ikaroa-Rāwhiti for Labour with a comfortable lead coming in with 8,644. Labour candidate Peeni Henare received 6497 votes in Tāmaki Makaurau, Adrian Rurawhe came in with 7,092 votes for Te Tai Hauāuru.  Meanwhile Rino Tirikatene of Labour maintained his hold on Te Tai Tonga with 7,280.

The MPs expressed excitement and commitment to the road ahead and discussed the various implications of last night’s election results.