Māori Ministers and their portfolio allocations


The allocation of portfolios to Māori MPs has been announced today, with Nanaia Mahuta and Kelvin Davis to take prominent ministerial roles.


Rt Hon Winston Peters

  • Deputy Prime Minister
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Minister for State Owned Enterprises
  • Minister for Racing

Kelvin Davis

  • Minister for Crown/Māori Relations
  • Minister of Corrections
  • Minister of Tourism
  • Associate Minister of Educations

Hon Nanaia Mahuta

  • Minister of Māori Development
  • Minister of Local Government
  • Associate Minister for the Environment

Ron Mark

  • Minister of Defence
  • Minister of Veterans

Tracey Martin

  • Minister for Children
  • Minister for Internal affairs
  • Minister Seniors
  • Associate Minister of Education

Hon Shane Jones

  • Minister of Forestry
  • Minister of Infrastructure
  • Minister for Regional Economic Development
  • Associate Minister of Finance
  • Associate Minister of Transport


Peeni Henare

  • Minister for Community and Voluntary Sector
  • Minister for Whanau Ora
  • Minister for Youth
  • Associate Minister for Social Development

Willie Jackson

  • Minister of Employment
  • Associate Minister for Māori Development

Meka Whaitiri

  • Minister of Customs
  • Associate Minister for Agriculture
  • Associate Minister for Crown/Māori Relations
  • Associate Minister of Local Government


Flectcher Tabuteau

Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister for Regional Economic Development.