Māori Party announce list of candidates for general election

By Ripeka Timutimu

The Māori Party today announced its list of 24 candidates to contest the 2014 General Election.  Veteran activitist Tame Iti has been named at number seven spot on the Māori Party list, with haka expert Eraia Kiel coming in behind him at number eight. 

There's no surprises who took the top spot on the Māori Party list.  Being the only MP for the party that is currently in parliament, Te Ururoa Flavell is hoping he won't be alone for much longer.

Often criticised for being out of touch with young people, this election will see six of the top 10 candidates under the age of 45.

This week, Tame Iti announced his intention to jump on the Māori Party waka, and has a high spot, coming in at lucky number seven.

The Māori Party has never surpassed the elusive 5% threshold to get list MPs into the House, but instead gained influence in the House through the Māori seats.

Co-leader of the party, Te Ururoa Flavell is confident he can do it again.

With four weeks to go, it looks like Te Ururoa Flavell has lots more gas in the tank to secure those crucial votes the Māori Party so desperately needs.