Māori storytelling celebrated at Ngā Kupu Ora Awards

The Massey University Ngā Kupu Ora Awards took place at the Auckland War Memorial Museum last night, celebrating Māori telling their own stories through Māori books and journalism. 
The awards have taken place for the last eight years. This year, for the first time, journalism was added as a category along side the five book categories.
Newshub reporter Maiki Sherman was named Māori Journalist of the Year for stories she produced while working for Te Kāea and Native Affairs.
Native Affairs reporter Iulia Leilua highly commended. 
A special award to honour veteran Māori Broadcaster Whai Ngata was also announced. Te Tohu a Tanara Whairiri Kitawhiti Ngata – Lifetime Achievement Award went to longtime TVNZ reporter and current producer of Marae, Tini Molyneux. The announcent prompted a standing ovation as former collegue Shane Taurima paid tribute not only to the work of Ms Molyneux but her contribution to the careers of many Māori journalists.
In the book section, internationally-acclaimed writer Patricia Grace won the Te Tuhinga Auaha - Creative Writing category with her first novel in 10 years, Chappy.  
Taranaki author Danny Keenan won the Te Kōrero o Mua/Te Haurongo – History/Biography with his latest book, Te Whiti o Rongomai and the Resistance of Parihaka. 
The Art category went to Māori Art: History, Architecture, Landscape and Theory by Dr Rangihiroa Pānaho while the Te Kōrero Pono - Non-Fiction section was won by Jessica Hutchings for Te Mahi Māra Hua Parakore: A Māori Sovereignty Food Handbook. 
The coveted Te Reo Māori award went to broadcaster Scotty Morrison for his latest book Māori Made Easy.