NZ First party vote does well in Māori Electorates

By Te Ao Māori News

A lot of Māori electorate voters threw their party vote behind NZ First, led by Winston Peters in this year’s election. With 100 percent of voting booths counted NZ First came in with strong numbers overall and 11 of it’s MP’s including it’s leader will have seats in Parliament.

Under the party vote in the Māori electorates, NZ First came in at second place behind Labour in Hauraki Waikato with 2380 votes, third place in Te Tai Tokerau (2805), Ikaroa-Rāwhiti (2224), Te Tai Hauāuru (2089) and Waiariki (2376) the party vote in Te Tai Tonga put the party in fourth place in that rohe with 2224 votes.

Winston Peters told Mihingarangi Forbes and Maiki Sherman in the Kōwhiri 14 Te Whakatau Special that his party had hoped to do better but overall he was happy with the result and vowed to keep the Government “honest.”

He says alongside him in Parliament among other list members will be four other Māori MP’s which will include Ron Mark, Pita Paraone, Darroch Ball and Fletcher Tabuteau.