Rabbitohs crowned 2015 NRL Auckland Nines champions

By Te Ao Māori News
Rabbitohs win 2015 NRL Nines - Photo / stuff.co.nz

After an action-packed weekend of rugby league, the 2015 Auckland NRL Nines champions were finally crowned.

South Sydney Rabbitohs took out the tournament claiming the win over the Cronulla Sharks during a very heated final.

In the early stages, the Rabbitohs started the match with precision showing speed which later set them up for a high ball try.

Once the Sharks laid hands on the ball, skipper Wade Graham set up a wide draw and pass before a quick tap-on from Valentine Holmes sent Sossaia Feki zipping away to score.

Just moments out from half-time, a charge-down by Chris Grevsmuhl saw the big prop add a 10-4 lead for the Rabbitohs before the break.

Redemption was obvious for the Sharks heading into the second half.  They quickly found their feet displaying impressive game play taking the score to 10-8.

The Sharks kept applying the pressure which later led to a spectacular side-line conversion on full-time from Cronulla, Valentine Holmes sending the match into extra time. 

With the scores sitting equal, the Rabbitohs immediately responded with striking blows at the Sharks defence line which eventually gave way to retired Rabbitoh, Matt King topping off his comeback with a match-winning try to settle the score: 18-14.