Tāmaki Makaurau Kapa Haka Regionals 2016- Te Puru o Tāmaki

Named after the Ngāti Whātua o Ōrākei whare tipuna that once resided at Okahu Bay, Te Puru o Tāmaki proudly take the stage at Auckland’s Vector Area located within their tribal lands.

Just last month the iwi commemorated a pivotal point in their history, the 39th anniversary of the Takaparawha/Bastion Point protest, a land protest that lasted 507 days. A day that still remains etched in their hearts, minds and whānau.

This year Te Puru o Tāmaki is led by Kaitātaki Tane (male leader) Graham Tipene and Kaitātaki Wahine (female leader) Fiona Smith. The group is tutored by Ken Kerehoma, Carlin Shaw, Michael Steedman, Graham Tipene and Fiona Smith.

This is their Haka, titled 'Te Kairuki' composed by Joe Pihema which tells the story behind the kapa and the iwi and the strong ties they hold to this whenua.