Te Arawa Sports Awards 2013

By Tamati Tiananga

The Holiday Inn Hotel at Whakarewarewa, Rotorua was packed with tribal members of Te Arawa celebrating and acknowledging its many outstanding athletes in sport.

Minarapa Mitai-Ngatai was inducted into the Te Puia Te Arawa Hall of Fame.

For the Rangatahi Team of the Year section, all 3 teams were acknowledged and named victorious.

Out of 30 youths acknowledged, just nine outstanding youths are recognised through scholarships, having displayed excellence in sport, cultural activities, service to the community, academia, as well as whānau, hapū, iwi and marae.

Western Heights High School's Senior A volleyball team won Team of the Tear.

Te Wehi Wright was named Sportsman of the Year.

Honey Hireme was named Sportswoman of the Year.

It was the first event in NZ to be decreed smoke-free and alcohol-free, something of a feat for Māori.