Teams welcomed as U20 FIFA World Cup draws near

By Wikitōria Day

As the U20 FIFA World Cup draws near, teams begin their arrival to Hamilton, the place in which some of the games will take place.

he Senegal U20 Football team will be welcomed to the Waikato Museum this morning at 11am.  They are one of six teams confirmed to play at Hamilton's Waikato Staduim.

The U20 FIFA World Cup is the global football body's second largest tournament and is played every two years.  This is the first time New Zealand has hosted the international event with games to be played in seven hosting cities. 

Earlier this week the Junior All Whites were officially welcomed onto Aotea Square in Auckland by representatives of Ngāti Whātua.

Teams who will be participating in the World Cup this year are:

New Zealand, Ghana, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, Korea, Myanmar, Qatar, Uzbekistan, Austria, Germany, Hungary, Portugal, Serbia, Ukraine, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, USA, Fiji, Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Uruguay.

Games will kick off this coming Saturday, and the opening match will be between New Zealand and Ukraine in Auckland.

Below is the list of matches New Zealand will play: 

Saturday 30 May: New Zealand v Ukraine, North Harbour Stadium 1pm.

Tuesday 2 June: New Zealand v USA, North Harbour Stadium 7pm.

Friday 5 June: Myanmar v New Zealand, Wellington Regional Stadium 7pm.

Quarter-finals: Sunday 14 June.

Semifinals: Wednesday 17 June: Christchurch Stadium 4pm and North Harbour Stadium 7:30pm.

Third place play-off: Saturday 20 June, North Harbour Stadium 1:30pm.

Final: Saturday 20 June, North Harbour Stadium 5pm.