Tohu Harris up for Kiwis Player of the Year at NZRL Awards

Lock Tohu Harris, prop Jesse Bromwich and fullback Roger Tuivasa-Sheck are the big names contending for Kiwis Player of the Year at the NZRL Awards to be held in February next year.

Finalists for all twelve categories have been announced by the selection panel.

Tohu Harris, who is a first grade league player for the Melbourne Storm, played every minute of all four tests for the Kiwis this year. Tuivasa-Sheck was named Dally M Fullback of the Year, after changing to the number one jersey for the Sydney Roosters and Bromwich was also a standout player in the Melbourne Storm and was considered one of the top front-rowers in the game. 

Ngāti Hikairo's Sarina Fiso has the chance to add another award to her two previous successes. She is a finalists in the Women's Player of the Year category. She's up against Counties Manukau team-mate Teuila Fotu-Moala and Akarana's Georgia Hale.

The full list of NZRL Awards finalists is as follows:

Kiwis Player of the Year:
Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm), Tohu Harris (Melbourne Storm), Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters)

Kiwis Rookie of the Year:
Jordan Kahu (Brisbane Broncos), Kodi Nikorima (Brisbane Broncos), SioSiua Taukeiaho (Sydney Roosters)

Women’s Player of the Year:
Sarina Fiso (Manurewa/Counties Manukau), Teuila Fotu-Moala (Otahuhu/Counties Manukau), Georgia Hale (Richmond/Akarana)

Junior Player of the Year:
Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne Storm), Daniel Levi (Newcastle Knights), Tuimoala Lolohea (NZ Warriors)

Premier Player of the Year:
Nick Read (Hamilton/WaiCoaBays/Upper Central), Matthew Sauni (Linwood/Canterbury/Southern), Raymond Talimalie (Mangere East/Counties Manukau)

18s Player of the Year:
Tarquinn Alatipi (Porirua/Wellington), Rory Ferguson (Dunedin/Southern), Ata Hingano (NZ Warriors)

16s Player of the Year:
Soane Hufanga (Richmond), Hayze Perham (Pikiao/WaiCoaBay/Upper Central), Josh Uta (Manurewa/Counties Manukau)

Match Official of the Year:
Adam Burns (Christchurch/Southern), Anthony Elliot (Auckland/Akarana), Harry Lysaght (Manawatu/Mid Central)

Domestic Coach of the Year:
Darrell Coad (Canterbury/Southern), Grant Pocklington (Auckland/Akarana), Rod Ratu (Counties Manaukau)

Grassroots Club of the Year:
Glenfield RL (Auckland/Akarana), New Lynn Stags (Auckland/Akarana), Pacific Sharks (Tokoroa/Upper Central)

Male Volunteer of the Year:
Marty Brown (Dargaville/Northland), Peter Butler (Manawatu/Mid Central), Simon Itula (Wainuiomata/Wellington)

Female Volunteer of the Year:
Leanne Anderson (Nelson/Southern), Mere Davis (Waikato/Upper Central), Mel Mather (Canterbury/Southern), Jeanne O’Brien (Dannevirke/Mid Central)