Tukoroirangi Morgan elected as new Māori Party President

By Heta Gardiner

Tukoroirangi “Tuku" Morgan has successfully won the Māori Party Presidency Election. Te Manukanuka o Hoturoa Marae in South Auckland hosted the AGM and election this afternoon which saw Morgan win over his opponent George Ngatai.

Morgan is from Waikato-Tainui and affiliates to the hapū of Ngāti Makirangi and Ngāti Mahuta. His political career first started in 1996 when won the Te Tai Hauāuru seat and became a New Zealand First MP, he later became an Independent MP for the Mauri Pacific party. In 2015 he became the Māori Party co-chair for the Hauraki-Waikato electorate.

Morgan previous worked in the education sector as a secondary school teacher, was a news and currents affairs journalist for TVNZ, TV3, and Aotearoa Television. Morgan has also held executive roles which include the co-chair of the Waikato River Authority, chair of the Tainui Development Authority, Member of the Iwi Leaders forum, Kahui Ariki Representative, Waikato-Tainui Tribal Executive – Te Arataura and Waikato-Tainui Tribal Parliament – Te Kauhanganui.

With the 2017 New Zealand Election just around the corner, Morgan has a lot of work to do.